Writing 101: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!

Sadly, I am unable to post in the Writing 101 Commons.  I know I am late to the party, but I thought I’d be able to jump in as soon as I could.

I decided against inserting the special occasion in the headline; didn’t want to wrench too many brains.  My special occasion, my most fond food-related memory has to do with the times I was sick.  I can see the headline now:  Happy Illness… Happy Measles… nope, doesn’t quite do it for me.

I was the youngest of 3 (until I was 7 when my mom remarried and gave my baby girl position to my little sister).  Growing up with 2 older brothers was rough.  I was never good enough, never their equal, except when we got sick.  Then we all received the same treatment, we all slept in the same room so mom or grammy could keep an eye on us more easily, and we all got strawberry milk.  Yum.  I salivate at the memory.

It seemed like the month of April was out to get us.  Every year we managed to come down with measles by my oldest brother’s birthday.  We remained confined until after my middle brother’s birthday in May.  My mom hated it and so did my grandmother… otherwise I might suspect them of duplicity that we were always sick for our birthdays so we couldn’t invite kids over for a birthday party.  I mean, how many kids do you know who got measles several years in a row, always at the same time?  And then there was that time in 3rd grade that someone actually invited me to her birthday party, and I came down with measles again after a few years of not getting them (it stopped once I started going to school full time).  So, maybe it was all just a scheme so they didn’t have to have dozens of screaming kids over.  *sigh*

Still, we got to drink strawberry milk.  My mom kept a container in the cupboard for just such instances.  It was a special treat only to be had during a forced confinement/convalescence.  Wonderful, rich and creamy, sweet, it was like nothing I had ever tasted.  Of course, milk was different back then.  You had to shake it up to mix the cream back into the milk.  Milk was probably closer to what we now get as half-an-half back then.  I was never a big fan of chocolate, always preferred vanilla… but this!  O… M… G…  what a perfect drink to wash down homemade cake!

I can no longer indulge in the beloved strawberry milk

Leave a Reply

